Road Safety T20 Cricket tournament played by Legends

Road Safety T20 Cricket tournament played by Legends

In a twist to bring awareness amongst rider across country a new T20 cricket tournament has been organized by Swachh Bharat Surakshit Bharat.  A trust that works closely with the RTO department of Maharashtra and it is conceptualized by the Professional Management Group (PMG). Tendulkar is the Brand Ambassador of the tournament. Viacom 18 is the broadcast partners. Jio and Voot are the digital partners of the tournament. To bring down traffic death every year Indian government has already implement new Traffic rules last year and it has really helped a lot in bringing down accident. An initiative of this kind when your favorite Cricket legends meet once a year will be taken very positively by fans.

A total of five nations including Australia, South Africa, Srilanka West Indies and India are going to take part in the upcoming T20 tournament named as Road Safety World Series 2020. As per the series schedule released on Thursday, a total of 11 matches will be played in the tournament.

Two of these 11 matches will be played at Wankhede, four at the Maharashtra Cricket Association stadium in Pune, four at DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai and the final game will be played at Brabourne Stadium here on March 22.

Pune will host two India matches (against South Africa Legends on March 14 and Australia Legends on March 20), while Wankhede and DY Patil will host one match each featuring the host team.

As per sources, Sachin Tendulkar will lead India Legends in the tournament. The likes of Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Irfan Pathan, Zaheer Khan are also part of the star-studded line-up. In the pace bowling department, Munaf Patel and Ajit Agarkar, who has been reportedly shortlisted for India’s chief selectors’ post, will accompany Irfan and Zaheer to form the team.

The former India batting coach Sanjay Bangar will also grave his presence for India Legends while Pragyan Ojha and Sairaj Bahutule will look after the spin bowling. Sameer Dighe who played 6 Tests and 23 ODIs for India will don the gloves behind the wickets.

Earlier, Ravi Gaekwad, the RTO chief of Mumbai had said in an interview that the fans have shown lots of excitement towards the tournament. And, he is expecting the fans to come in big numbers to watch the games in the stadium. The schedule of the tournament was released a few days ago and the opening game is set to be played between Sachin Tendulkar-led India Legends and Brian Lara’s West Indies Legends on 7th of March at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Indian Legends Squad: Sachin Tendulkar (C), Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Sameer Dighe (WK), Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, Zaheer Khan, Sanjay Bangar, Munaf Patel, Mohammad Kaif, Pragyan Ojha, Sairaj Bahutule.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *