India Women’s Cricket team will Face England in the T20 World cup semi final

The semi-final spot for the ongoing Women’s T20 world cup has been finalized. Group A Topper India will face England on Thursday and Group B topper South Africa will take on Australia on the same day. And India justified its top position by winning all the group matches against host Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand, and Srilanka. Whereas South Africa from Group B was little lucky, they won 3 matches however their last clash with West Indies was abandoned without a bowl being bowled due to rain and both West Indies and South Africa team were awarded a single point each.

Indian fan’s expectation is too high this time from Shafali Verma and Poonam Yadav however defeating England will not be an easy task. This is the 7th edition of Women’s T20 world cup and India has reached the semi-final thrice however they have never reached the final. Australia won the title 4 times followed by England, South Africa, and West Indies with one time each.

List of Winners of ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

Winner Runner up Year/Host
England New Zealand 2009/England
Australia New Zealand 2010/West Indies
Australia England 2012/Sri Lanka
Australia England 2014/Bangladesh
West Indies Australia 2016/India
Australia England 2018/West Indies
TBD TBD 2020/Australia

The 16-year-old opener Shafali Verma from India has so far scored 161 runs in the four innings at a strike rate of 161. She has hit 18 fours and 9 sixes and has played a crucial role in India’s progress to the last four stages.

In the bowling department, leg-spinner Poonam has been on a roll and the tormentor-in-chief for the opposition teams. She is the tournament’s leading wicket-taker so far and has got nine Wickets. To know more in detail follow us at

Poonam Yadam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *