India and Australia to meet the final at ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

Today two semi final were planned. However the 1st Semi Final between India Vs England was abandoned due to rain. As there was no extra day scheduled for abandoned game, England was very unlucky to lose the game without a single bowl being bowled. India being the topper in Group A, who won all their league stage matches earlier got the benefit for playing well and awarded to play the final on March 08th, 2020

The other Semi final was played in the same Sydney ground however it was also intervened due to rain; luckily there was a shorter version of the game. Australia batted first and made 134/5 in 20 overs. Captain Lanning scored a composed 49* (49) when there was collapse in the middle order. The opener gave a good start to Australia and their 1st Wicket fell at 34 runs. Mooney made 28 (24) runs and Healy was out at 18(13). Nadine de Klerk is the highest wicket taker from South Africa. She took 3 wickets in here 4 overs and conceded 19 runs only.

South Africa last match against West Windies in group stage was not less than a blessing, where the match was abandoned and they top the table in Group B. However today the rain God has created problems for them when their target was revised by DLS method and given a target of 98 runs to be chased from 13 overs and that was insane. South Africa did every bit of it to chase the target however fallen short by 5 runs. The stats were 92/5 (13 overs). Wolvaardt has almost made it for South Africa she made 41*(27) with 2 sixes and 3 fours. She was man of the match against Pakistan for her half century. Some splendid bowing by Megan Schutt 3-0-17-2 and Delissa Kimmince 3-0-16-1 has made it for Australia. Australian Captain Meg Lanning was the man of the match for her 49 and well captaincy. Australia to play the final against India on Sunday. India already defeated Australia once in the group stage however remember Australia are the 4 times champion within this 7th edition of T20 World Cup. England, South Africa, West Indies are the other winners. Let’s find the winner of the 8th edition on March 8th.Australia has the advantage to play at home. All the best to both the teams.

List of Winners of ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

Winner Runner up Year/Host
England New Zealand 2009/England
Australia New Zealand 2010/West Indies
Australia England 2012/Sri Lanka
Australia England 2014/Bangladesh
West Indies Australia 2016/India
Australia England 2018/West Indies

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *